The Night Visitor

22 Feb

The sound of my sister’s phone goes off and I am awoken from my all so perfect sleep. Opening my eyes I find I cannot see a thing. Darkness is all that is around me. Another black out obviously. Stupid ZESCO. Even in my sleepy state I can’t help but get angry at probably the worst Electricity supply company in the world.

Still a bit disoriented from sleep I hear a familiar sound by my window. Someone is trying to open it and from the cold night breeze that swiftly washes over my body, making me shiver I know they have succeeded.

My first thought is to scream but that is immediately taken over by fear and my body has gone numb, almost frozen. I cannot move.

I feel the weight of something push down on my bed and it seems to be moving closer, closer to my body. At that moment I know I should do something, jump out of  the bed and run, call out to my parents in the next room, grab a shoe and hit it, anything but I just lay there and pretend I am asleep.

A thought comes to my mind, any minute now they will reach my throat and they will kill me. This is the worst way to go, surrounded by darkness. I will probably never see my family again, never graduate, never get married, and never see my boyfriend again. This is just too much.

Just then I feel something on my bum. The touch is so gentle, almost like I am imagining it. Oh no, please just kill me, do not rape me also. Get up! Move! Scream! But still my body is frozen, not listening to any of my orders. It is almost like my brain no longer functions, except to help me feel fear and I guess in the next moment it will be pain.

Hearing some movement on the bed next to mine, I suddenly remember my sister is in the room with me. Oh God no, I was ready to accept whatever fate had been laid out for me, but my poor sister, I could not handle that.  Life suddenly comes back into my body and a plan is made. Not a good one but desperate times.

Shifting in the bed and making it seem like I was just stretching, I reach over to the foot of my bed. I grab the fork I had been using just some hours ago, happy that my bad eating habits and my inability to take back the plate and fork to the kitchen might just save not only my life but my sisters too.

All of the sudden the room goes bright, the power is back on. Wow ZESCO can you seriously suck any more than you already do? I hate you so much. In that moment I know this is the only chance I will get to strike the potential Murderer/ rapist on my bed. Getting up with all I have, the dirty fork in hand and probably the strength of an army inside of me, I turn and launch myself preparing to come face to face with the intruder. Oh please, let this work.

Just as I am about to strike I find myself staring in familiar eyes, eyes so innocent and big, I can’t help but sigh with relief. All this time I was freaking out and it was just Mr. Rebels, my sisters pet cat. What did I almost do?

I laugh at myself but I know nothing about this is funny; I almost stabbed my sister’s cat with a fork. Talk about an over active imagination. I could not even remember that we own a cat. I guess that is what you get for reading vampire novels and watching too many serial killer movies.

4 Responses to “The Night Visitor”

  1. greenembers February 22, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    whoa, that was intense! Glad you and the cat are okay!

    • A Girl Nicknamed Dee February 23, 2013 at 7:51 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I am glad too, I doubt anyone would have understood in the house if I said I mistook the cat for some killer

  2. ioniamartin February 22, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Now that was fun to read!

    • A Girl Nicknamed Dee February 23, 2013 at 7:50 am #

      :D, after such an experience I thought writing a long post would be more fitting that simply saying “I almost killed my sister’s cat”

A penny for your thoughts?? (I would like to know what you think)

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

EmilyBooks

where Emily and books collide

If Books Could Blog

The written word is the only saviour this world needs.

The Picture Book Review

Picture book reviews, reviews of books with pictures, and pictures of books!

WordMothers

Interviews with female authors, word artists, and book industry professionals

MLNewman

Love Is Waiting Where You Least Expect It

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Captain's Log

Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

foreverlive777

Just another WordPress.com site

The Struggling Writer

Where the triumph of intellect and romance over brute force and cynicism is celebrated!

Christa Wojciechowski

Dark Fiction, Delirium, and Digital Marketing

