Of House Keepers, Personal chefs, Trainers and Stylists

11 Feb

Having K 6 ( six Kwacha)  to my name safely hibernating in my account, which is roughly close to a Dollar and being in university with millions of kwacha debt in student loans, I find myself thinking “Will I ever live the life I dream of?”, “Am I ever going to taste foreign foods like prawns, venison, lobster or maybe something a little more dreamy… caviar?”. With one more year left until graduation and the fear of the future growing more each day especially with the upcoming publication of examination results this 15th, I keep drifting away from reality and keep getting stuck in day dreams where my account balance puts J.K .Rowling’s to shame.

After spending most part of my vacation away from school either blogging or reading novels and pretty much just trying to forget about university while most of my friends are spending their hours of the day getting attachments and internships in big companies, I can’t help but wonder if I am maybe being a little too carefree and careless with my life.

I wake up each day, which if I might add is getting harder each day when I do not have that much too look forward to, and after having breakfast and showering the list of things to do drops to about only three possible enjoyable activities;  spend the whole day on the internet, spend the whole day reading novels or spend the whole day in the TV room watching cheesy romance movies, fashion programs, cook shows and anything else that is showing.

I know what some of you might be thinking, believe me I think it all the time. I bet my last remaining money that you would tell me something like, “Stop being such a depressed little stuffed animal and do something about it then”. If you thought about anything that even remotely sounds or means anything close to that, then congratulations, you have officially joined the team. Now before you get all excited, just in case this is the first time you are a part of anything, (especially a team), just know that being a part of this team means you are accepting that you are a good for giving advice critic and probably a busybody too (I think). Okay maybe not. It doesn’t really matter because this post is supposed to be about house keepers, personal chefs, trainers and stylists.

Being born in Zambia, Africa and before you even ask, NO I do not own a lion and I do not know anyone who does…I once saw them at a zoo though, at least I think it was a zoo. I can say I grew up knowing most of the stuff I know from reading and sometimes watching TV, being an indoor couch potato and all ,but then again, I am guessing that is how everyone learns most stuff about other peoples cultures, right?

The bad thing about all this, TV and books is you are never really sure if everything you are seeing is the truth. I say this because, I once had a friend on Facebook form Greece and he never believed me each time I told him I was in Africa. He said, he did a Google search of Zambia and the only images that were coming up were of children with malaria, Malnutrition, the crazy Sub Sahara AIDS levels, Black outs and all other depressing stuff. Though that might be the case with like most of the country (RURAL ZAMBIA), I guess I expected at least something positive…I don’t know wishful thinking I guess.

So I have this dream now of making my country shine a little more but that’s still a work in progress…obviously.

I really do not know if the things I spent watching during the better parts of  my teen years were true, you know all those shows that had “ordinary” people living their lives but where everything looked like it was heaven. I say this because any world where I have a personal chef preparing me gourmet meals that will get me salivating just from smelling them, I get to be the one who gives away second had clothes to “the less fortunate” and the house is never dirty because there is always someone who dusts every surface in the house ..Goodbye sneezing, common cold and flu or whatever it is people catch from dust (I guess I should come clean and say I am a lazy bum).

But at this moment, sitting in front of my laptop and after typing all this, I feel like my life couldn’t be more perfect (Its like typing these words woke me up). I know that makes no sense after I typed over 700 words trashing it.  But I have realized something, life is in the simplicity of things. How you smile and enjoy it no matter what hurdles are in your path.

You may not have that mansion you always fantasized about , the body you always dreamed of , the ultimate job you wanted and even the chefs, trainers, stylists, maids and anything to make you (by you I mean me) even more of a lazy couch muffin than you already are. But there has to come a point in ones life when you have to just sit back and enjoy all the little things you have no matter how little the may seem,, it can be something as small as remembering that you had breakfast in the morning, have a roof over your head, you have a family and friends who love you, your health is still intact, you just got accepted into university and above all that while there may be hundreds of people who did not wake up today, you were given another shot at life to enjoy it further more.

A penny for your thoughts?? (I would like to know what you think)

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

EmilyBooks

where Emily and books collide

If Books Could Blog

The written word is the only saviour this world needs.

The Picture Book Review

Reviews of Children's Board Books, Picture Books, Activity Books, and Graphic Novels

WordMothers

Interviews with female authors, word artists, and book industry professionals

MLNewman

Love Is Waiting Where You Least Expect It

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Captain's Log

Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

foreverlive777

Just another WordPress.com site

The Struggling Writer

Where the triumph of intellect and romance over brute force and cynicism is celebrated!

Christa Wojciechowski

Dark Fiction, Delirium, and Digital Marketing

