CONFESSIONS OF A CAMPUS OUTCAST.

9 Apr

University, college or whatever it is that other people go to after spending five years of high school being bullied, laughed at for being weird, unnoticed, and for the lucky few being the popular girl or boy.
In a little over two weeks, I will be going back to university for my third year and up to now it still gets me down.
I remember my first year like it was last week, I had packed my suitcases (well actually my sister packed for me, I suck at packing. I never quite manage it without my sister, even just folding messes me up) but since I was not sure if I was given a room on campus, I just went with a huge hand bag with just a change of clothes and some other things. Anyway upon arrival on campus I found out that I was not accommodated on campus. I remember feeling so stranded and me and my friends (three of them) had to spent that first night in a room with nine other girls. The three of us slept on the floor, and there were three on both single beds and the others slept on the counter looking thing in the room. I kept wondering if the rest of the year was going to be like this.
The following day was not any better, after spending the whole morning and afternoon registering by the time it was 15 i was so exhausted and drained.
Then when me and my friends went back to the room because we needed to rest, we just found suitcases outside with the owner saying we could not spend the night there again. That sucked. I called home crying that this was too much for me, I wanted to go back home.
By day three we managed to find an affordable boarding house near campus, but that place really sucked. We had no electricity for two weeks and the landlord owned this shotgun that he kept firing at night to scare away the thieves. I guess the most important thing regardless of all that was that I cleared all my courses and managed to make it to second year.
Then just like in my first year, I was still not accommodated last year. I tried looking for someone I can squat with but everything that I came across ended up not working out and so I gave up on living on campus again. Well in the end, i spent my entire year at a boarding house with goats, chickens and ducks. Plus it was so far away that I missed most of my lectures because I felt lazy to wake up at 05:00am and I just did not feel like going to class. I didnt just fit in anywhere, even after an entire year.
I lived at a freaking farm house and the smell, and goat droppings, lets just say that at the end of the year I could not even smell it.
My boyfriend kept laughing at me and always told me to move to somewhere else, but No I didnt move. I do not know why.
I remember this lecture that I attended like four times the whole year, I used to go and write the tests though.
I spent most of my second year being depressed and just sleeping until like until 10am. I cant even remember what was putting me down.
I am glad that I cleared all my courses again. Even though the grades were not that impressive.
So here I am again, a third year student still not knowing where I am going to be sleeping for the next 10 months. It doesnt really help that I dont know that many girls and the few that I do know are in the same situation as me.
Any way I have come this far, I will not let something as small as accomodation slow me down.

7 Responses to “CONFESSIONS OF A CAMPUS OUTCAST.”

  1. muyuni April 9, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    Hehe, you’re funny but inspiring. Thanks for that, it’s really ummm…motivating

    • A Girl Nicknamed Dee April 9, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      I am glad that my wack uni experience is inspiring you…I hope 3rd year wont suck 🙂

  2. Chaoticwritting April 9, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Sorry hun,am guesin ua at cbu.Got a friend in the same situation az u but goodluck all the same.Umwah

    • A Girl Nicknamed Dee April 9, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      Thanx love, and ya I am at CBU. The accommodation crisis is crazy. Thanx again 🙂 xo

  3. Secondhand Surfer May 18, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    What school is CBU~sounds like you’re learning about life. One of the major accomplishments is showing up. Nice post.

    • A Girl Nicknamed Dee May 24, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      Its The Copperbelt University, thats in Zambia.

      I guess you are right, thank you 🙂

      • Secondhand Surfer May 25, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

        Zambia~wow-I’ve got to look that exact location up.
        You can’t know too much about geography. Very cool.

A penny for your thoughts?? (I would like to know what you think)

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

EmilyBooks

where Emily and books collide

If Books Could Blog

The written word is the only saviour this world needs.

The Picture Book Review

Reviews of Children's Board Books, Picture Books, Activity Books, and Graphic Novels

WordMothers

Interviews with female authors, word artists, and book industry professionals

MLNewman

Love Is Waiting Where You Least Expect It

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Captain's Log

Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

foreverlive777

Just another WordPress.com site

The Struggling Writer

Where the triumph of intellect and romance over brute force and cynicism is celebrated!

Christa Wojciechowski

Dark Fiction, Delirium, and Digital Marketing

